Winners of 2024 Toner Prizes for Excellence in Political Reporting Announced by Newhouse School

The Toner Program was established at the Newhouse School in 2009 to celebrate the life and work of late alumna Robin Toner ’76, the first woman to serve as national political correspondent for The New York Times.

The Washington Post won the 2024 Toner Prize for national political reporting for a series of stories that probed the impact of ideological disagreements on a thriving Michigan county.

The Philadelphia Inquirer’s coverage of the city’s mayoral election earned the 2024 Toner Prize for local political reporting.

The winners of the annual Toner Prizes for Excellence in Political Reporting were announced by Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications during a ceremony Monday night in Washington, D.C. North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper delivered the keynote address.

THE CITY, an independent nonprofit newsroom that covers New York City, took an honorable mention for local political reporting.

Finalists for each category were announced earlier this month.

The judges were:

Toner Prize for Excellence in National Political Reporting

Winner: The Washington Post
Reporters: Greg Jaffe and Patrick Marley
Entry: “Ottawa County”

Judges’ Comments

“This is a superb example of a microscopic examination of a growing national infection and its lessons to the nation as the drama unfolded. It fits the Toner criteria as ‘fact-based reporting; illuminates the electoral process, with a special focus on coverage of candidates, campaigns or elections … [and] reveals the politics of policy.’” – Compton

“Very strong look at changes in a small Michigan county with lots of Americans who seem very disappointed by the way their lives and the place they live [have] been going.” – Treaster

“This also was an incredibly well-done project. The narrative style was truly exceptional and in order to [do] that you need to do exceptional reporting. If I could give another [five] to this entry, I would.” – Rodriguez

Toner Prize for Excellence in Local Political Reporting

Winner: The Philadelphia Inquirer
Reporters: Anna Orso, Sean Walsh, Julia Terruso, Aseem Shukla and Layla Jones
Entry: “The race for Philadelphia’s 100th mayor”

Judges’ Comments

“This is the whole package—a richly reported political series, giving readers a thorough look at the choices for mayor. … The issues are there, the city’s voting demographics, the voices of voters and officials, and profiles of the candidates. And, so importantly, explained to the readers why Parker won. Very well done.” – Schwartz

“The best part of this series of stories is the voter data piece that breaks down the city’s demographics. It provides a roadmap of how Philly residents vote and adds critical context to all of the stories in the series. Very compelling, and very well done.” – Kirk

Toner Prize for Excellence in Local Political Reporting Honorable Mention

Reporters: George Joseph, Bianca Pallaro, Haidee Chu, Tom Robbins, Yoav Gonen, April Xu (Documented) and Katie Honan
Entry: “Straw Donors, Ethics Violations Plague Eric Adams Campaign Fundraising Efforts”

Judges’ Comments

“Dogged work connecting the dots and exposing the potential breadth of a problem a federal indictment first put into focus. Illumination of how [a] public matching funds program may now be abused and exploited, raising the stakes for candidates, their campaigns and the electoral process.” – Dwyer

“Wow. This is insane. Each of the stories breaks new ground and is vividly written. The reporting is detailed, with each major claim backed up. It also has a clear impact on the city.” – Bellantoni


About the Toner Prizes

Established in 2009, the Toner Prizes recognize and reinforce quality, fact-based political reporting—work that illuminates the electoral process, reveals the politics of policy and engages the public in democracy. The awards, along with the Robin Toner Program in Political Reporting at the Newhouse School, are named after Robin Toner ’76, the first woman to serve as national political correspondent of The New York Times.