Syracuse Press Club announces 2021 finalists

The Syracuse Press Club announced the finalists in its 2021 competition, which includes both student and professional categories, and Newhouse School students and media organizations received recognition. The winners will be announced at the Syracuse Press Club Awards Banquet, scheduled for Sept. 25. Congratulations, finalists!


Sports Story

Sports Show

  • WAER, Karl Moeglein, Gil Gross, Corey Spector and Cooper Boardman, “Syracuse v. North Carolina Countdown to Kickoff”
  • WAER, Owen Valentine and Max Chadwick, “Sportsnight: Syracuse Basketball Preview Show Pandemic and Expectations”


Investigative Story

  • NCC News, Alex Peebles, “Peebles for the People”

News Feature


  • The Stand, Jeff Kramer, “Census Concerns”



Photo Essay

  • The Stand, Mike Greenlar and Herm Card, “CNY Bicycle Giveaway”

Carl Single Award for Spot News Photography

  •, Ricky Sayer, “High School Students Lead Thousands on Youth Black Lives Matter March”


Breaking News


Print News Story

Print Sports Story

Print Feature Story

Radio/Podcast News Story

Television News Story

  • Citrus TV, Ricky Sayer, “The Quietest of Game Days”
  • Citrus TV, Ricky Sayer, Erin Lyons, Rob Flaks and Kathryn Goralski, “Special Report: Faculty Under Pressure”

Television Sports Story

  • Citrus TV, Cameron Macaulay, “Brendan Curry Shares His Homewood Connection”
  • The NewsHouse, Julia Skeval, Adam Klepp, Justin Glowacki and Jakob Konwiser, “The Creator’s Game

Radio/Podcast Feature Story

Television Feature Story

Multimedia Story