Newhouse Students Honored for Visual Projects in College Photographer of the Year and AEJMC Competitions

Newhouse students were honored for their photography and multimedia projects in the annual College Photographer of the Year (CPoY) and the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication (AEJMC) National News Engagement Day video competitions last month.

Surya Vaidy, Isaiah Vazquez and Collin Bell—all multimedia, photography and design graduate students—won in CPoY, a prestigious photography competition held by the University of Missouri. Vaidy won a Gold Award in the Interpretive Eye category, while Vazquez and Bell were honored with Awards of Excellence in the Sports Portfolio and Multimedia: Individual Story or Essay categories, respectively.

AEJMC National News Engagement Day awards

Broadcast and digital journalism students Meghan McCloskey and Kayley Decina were two of five students awarded for their AEJMC National News Engagement Day videos, made in assistant professor Keonte Coleman’s class during the day-long competition.

National News Engagement Day, held on the first Tuesday of October, encourages people to engage with, read, watch and comment on news. Both students wove those themes into their projects, with McCloskey’s video focusing on what goes into putting together a live news broadcast and Decina’s focusing on reliably sourced news.