Newhouse School Announces Winners in 2023 Mirror Awards Competition

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications announced the winners of the 2023 Mirror Awards at a ceremony Monday night in New York City. The awards recognize excellence in media industry reporting.

Chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, the winners are:

Best Single Article/Story

Reniqua Allen-Lamphere
Her Name Was Shirley
Esquire and the Economic Hardship Reporting Project

Best Profile

Joe Pompeo
Far From the Maddow Crowd” (PDF)
Vanity Fair

Best Commentary

Erik Wemple
“Commentary on media issues”
The Washington Post


John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

Nicholas Confessore and Karen Yourish
“Tucker Carlson’s America”
The New York Times


Special Topic Category for 2023 – Best Story on Media Coverage of the War in Ukraine

Paul Mozur, Adam Satariano, Aaron Krolik, Neil MacFarquhar, Steven Lee Myers and Stuart A. Thompson
“Russia’s Disinformation Machine”
The New York Times


In addition to the juried journalism awards, the Newhouse School presented the Fred Dressler Leadership Award to PBS Newshour senior correspondent Judy Woodruff. She was introduced at the ceremony by Sandra Cordova Micek, president and CEO of WTTW and chair of the Newhouse Advisory Board.

The Lorraine Branham IDEA Award was presented to Amplifier. Accepting on behalf of Amplifier was executive director Emily Goulding, who was introduced by Amplifier board member Anjali Kumar, an advisor, author and attorney.

MSNBC anchor KatyTur and “CBS Mornings” co-host Tony Dokoupil served as masters of ceremony for this year’s event, which was held at the Edison Ballroom in midtown Manhattan. Newhouse Dean Mark J. Lodato delivered opening and closing remarks.

Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the Mirror Awards are the most important accolades for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. They honor the reporters, writers and editors who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. For more information, visit or email