Newhouse School announces winners in 2021 Mirror Awards competition

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the winners in the 2021 Mirror Awards competition for excellence in media industry reporting.

Chosen from by a group of journalists and journalism educators, the winners are:

Best Profile

Lauren Markham

The Heat Reporter

Columbia Journalism Review

Best Commentary

Issac J. Bailey

George Floyd, Ahmaud Arbery, and One Journalist’s Painfully Honest Self-Examination on Racism

Is Biden’s Stutter Being Mistaken for ‘Cognitive Decline’?

Will This Racial Reckoning Finally Force Newsrooms to Listen to Every Staffer’s Voice?

Nieman Reports

Best Single Article/Story

Charles Bethea

What Happens When the News Is Gone?

The New Yorker

John M. Higgins Award for In Depth/Enterprise Reporting

Micah Loewinger and Hampton Stall with Brooke Gladstone and Katya Rogers

How Zello Became A Recruitment & Organizing Tool for the Far Right

On the Media Produced by WNYC Studios

Best Story on Media Coverage of the COVID-19 Pandemic

Lynsey Chutel, Lauren Harris, Linda Kinstler, Tony Lin, Zainab Sultan and Stephania Taladrid

Infection and Repression

Columbia Journalism Review

Best Story on Media Coverage of the 2020 Presidential Election

Casey Quackenbush

Without a Campaign to Cover, Reporters Shift to Covering the Voting Process Itself

Nieman Reports

In addition to the juried journalism awards, the Newhouse School presented the Fred Dressler Leadership Award to Jorge Ramos of Univision Noticias, and the inaugural Lorraine Branham IDEA Award to Brown Girls Doc Mafia, accepted by co-founder Iyabo Boyd.

Newhouse dean Mark J. Lodato presided over the virtual ceremony, and Newhouse alumna Michelle Marsh ’05 of ABC7 in Washington, D.C. served as master of ceremonies. 

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. For information about the awards, visit or email