Newhouse School Announces Finalists in 2024 Mirror Awards Competition

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications today announced the finalists in the 2024 Mirror Awards competition honoring excellence in media industry reporting. Winners will be announced June 13 at an awards ceremony in New York City.

The finalists, selected by a group of journalists and journalism educators, are:

Best Single Article/Story

Best Profile

Best Commentary

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

Special Topic Category 1 for 2024 – Best Story on Media Coverage of Artificial Intelligence in Journalism and the Media

Special Topic Category 2 for 2024 – Best Story on Media Coverage of the Israeli-Hamas Conflict

About the Mirror Awards

The Mirror Awards are the most important awards for recognizing excellence in media industry reporting. Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit. For information about the awards, visit or email  

An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated that Mary Retta was the author of “The Hacker” in the Best Profile category. The author is Maddy Crowell.