Newhouse School Announces 2024 Mirror Awards

Event in New York City celebrated excellence in media industry reporting.

The 2024 Mirror Awards were held at the Edison Hotel in New York City. (Photo by Jeff Passetti)

Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications announced the winners of the 2024 Mirror Awards at a ceremony Thursday night in New York City. The awards recognize excellence in media industry reporting.

Chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators, the winners are:

Best Single Article/Story 

Paige Williams
A Small-Town Paper Lands A Very Big Story” (PDF)
The New Yorker

Best Profile

Emily Sohn
The Catch
Long Lead

Best Commentary 

Lydia Polgreen
It’s Not a Good Sign When People Who Don’t Pay for News Have So Little to Choose From” (PDF) 
The New York Times

John M. Higgins Award for Best In-Depth/Enterprise Reporting

Jeremy W. Peters, Jim Rutenberg, Katie Robertson and Michael S. Schmidt
“Fox’s Costly Miscalculation”
The New York Times


Special Topic Category 1 for 2024: Best Story on Media Coverage of Artificial Intelligence in Journalism and the Media

Maggie Harrison Dupré
Sports Illustrated Published Articles by Fake, AI-Generated Writers

Special Topic Category 2 for 2024: Best Story on Media Coverage of the Israeli-Hamas Conflict

Brooke Gladstone
The Fog of War Shrouds a Devastating Conflict
“On the Media”

CNN anchor and national correspondent Erica Hill served as master of ceremonies. Also, these previously announced honorees received the following featured awards:

Fred Dressler Leadership Award

Byron Allen
Founder, Chairman and CEO, Allen Media Group

Lorraine Branham IDEA Award

MLK50: Justice Through Journalism

About the Mirror Awards

Established by the Newhouse School in 2006, the Mirror Awards honor the reporters, editors and teams of writers who hold a mirror to their own industry for the public’s benefit.

The competition is open to anyone who conducts reporting, commentary or criticism of the media industries in a format intended for a mass audience. Eligible work includes print, broadcast and online editorial content focusing on the development or distribution of news and entertainment. Winners are chosen by a group of journalists and journalism educators.