Class Notes


Bob Costas ’74 joined CNN as a contributor.


Shelly Fisher ’80 launched Girls Nite Live, a platform dedicated to helping women whose incomes were adversely affected by the pandemic.

Jim Weiss ’87 was announced as a board member for Indapta Therapeutics as they move into clinical trials for their new cancer treatment therapies. Weiss, CEO and founder of W2O Group, will provide marketing and commercial strategy support.


Dan Surdam ’90 has been selected as the winner of the 2021 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) College Division Achievement Award. Surdam is the associate sports information director at SUNY Cortland. 

Sandra Cordova Micek ’91 was named to PBS’s Board of Directors.

Nicole Avery Nichols G’93 was named editor-in-chief of Chalkbeat, a nationwide journalism nonprofit dedicated to telling the story of American education.

Eric Grossman ’94 was selected by the New York Daily Gazette as one of the top orthopedic surgeons in New York City.

Sinan Sadar G’94 was named head of talent recruitment by Hearst Television.

Yolanda Bevill ’95 was named vice president for university communications at Colorado State University.

Sasha Johnson ’98 was named vice president of corporate safety at United Airlines.


Jessica Rose Juliano was announced as a realtor associate for Christie’s International Real Estate Northern New Jersey.

Steven Feldman ’04 joined Latham & Watkins as a partner.

Eli Saslow ’04 won a George Polk Award for Journalism for his oral history series “Voices of the Pandemic,” published in The Washington Post.

Jason Benetti ’05 was named Illinois Sportscaster of the Year by National Sports Media Association.

Kimberley A. Martin ’06 was announced as co-host of the podcast “First Take, Her Take” for ESPN.

Carl Radke ’07 was an original cast member in Bravo’s “Summer House.”


Drew Jordan G’10 was part of a team that won a Pulitzer Prize for international reporting.

Jes Zurell G’11 joined HL Turner Group of Concord as marketing director.

Megan Hess ’11 was promoted to senior editor of digital subscriptions at Bloomberg.

Erica Morrow ’11 G’12 returned to Syracuse University as an assistant coach for the women’s basketball team.

Rob Marvin ’13 was promoted to program manager for web content strategy at Amazon Web Services.

Colleen Cummings ’14 was named as a New Voice Under 30 by Sports Business Journal.

Whembley Sewell ’15 has been promoted to editor-in-chief of Condé Nast’s “Them.”

Rebecca Shafer ’15 was promoted to account manager, digital and social at Sunshine Sachs.

Angie (Eun Ji) Chung, G ’15 earned tenure at Auburn University’s School of Communication and Journalism, where she is an assistant professor.

Amanda Finney G’16 was named chief of staff of the White House press office by President Joe Biden.

Andrea Lopez ’16 was selected by ViacomCBS to perform in their 2021 Showcase.

Fatima Bangura ’17 joined NewsNation as a social media manager.

Chuck Wallington G’17, a graduate of the communications management program, was recognized for his research as one of the Institute for Public Relations’ Top 15 Public Relations Insights of 2020. Wallington’s research on “Barriers, Borders, and Boundaries: Exploring Why There are so Few African-American Males in the Public Relations Profession” was the topic of his master’s capstone project and was later published in the June 2020 issue of the Public Relations Journal.

Lindsey Sabado McClafferty G’18 joined PureLinq as a content marketing specialist.

Kelsey Davis ’19 G’20 was named one of 30 Under 30 by Forbes magazine.


Laiqa Hitt ’20 and Jared Bunn ’20 won the Best Documentary Short Gold Award at the Independent Shorts Awards in Los Angeles with their film on Caroline Sheldon, “Panacea.”

Jewél Jackson ’20 joined El Paso Matters as a higher education reporter.

Cole Johnson G’20 is morning producer/anchor for NBC News 11 and Fox 9 in Yuma, Arizona.

In Memoriam

Nina Kapur ’06 died July 19, 2020, after a traffic accident. Kapur was a reporter for CBS2 in New York.

Gregory Miller ’11 died June 7, 2020. Miller was an entertainment writer for the New York Post, and an editor of Jerk Magazine while at Newhouse.

Larry Barron ’87 died Dec. 23, 2020. Barron’s television producing credits included “The Amazing Race,” “Coupled” and “Paradise Hotel,” and he was a founder of the university radio station Z89.