Alumni dominate National Sports Media Association list of honorees

Go Orange!

Dick Stockton
Dick Stockton

Famed sports broadcaster and Syracuse University alumnus Dick Stockton ’64 has been voted into the National Sports Media Association (NSMA) Hall of Fame, and an additional 11 alumni have received national awards, demonstrating once again that the ‘Cuse is the place for aspiring sports journalists.

Honorees are:

Michael Barkann ’82, NBC Sports Philadelphia, named Pennsylvania Sportscaster of the Year

Jason Benetti ’05, NBC Sports Chicago, named Illinois Sportscaster of the Year

Rich Cimini ’85, ESPN New York, named New York Sportswriter of the Year

Matt Gelb ’09, The Athletic, named Pennsylvania Sportswriter of the Year

Dan Hoard ’85, radio voice of the Cincinnati Bengals and the University of Cincinnati Bearcats, named Ohio Sportscaster of the Year

Dave Jageler ’92, Nationals Radio Network, named D.C. Sportscaster of the Year

Kevin Maher ’97, News 12 Long Island, named New York Sportscaster of the Year

Mike Murphy ’95, Wildcat Sports Properties, named New Hampshire Sportscaster of the Year

Dave Pasch ’94, Arizona Cardinals Radio Network, named Arizona Sportscaster of the Year

Cory Provus ’00, Twins Radio Network, named Minnesota Sportscaster of the Year

Dan Roche ’87, WBZ-TV, named Massachusetts Sportscaster of the Year

NSMA calls Stockton “one of sportscasting’s most versatile play-by-play announcers.” He is in his 27th year with Fox Sports, and has also worked for Turner Sports for nearly two decades.

The Newhouse School has long had a reputation for turning out highly successful sports journalists. In 1984, Sports Illustrated referred to Syracuse as “the incubator of sports announcers.”

Also of Interest

Newhouse Sports Media Center

The Sports Media Center connects alumni, faculty and current students through their sports journalism skills and passion for the profession.