2023 Newhouse Awards

Each spring, the Newhouse School recognizes those students whose dedication, ingenuity, academic excellence and creativity exhibit extraordinary talent and effort. Congratulations to this year’s winners!

Undergraduate Awards

Advertising Awards

Deborah Fink Green Award

Harry D. Meyers Memorial Prize in Advertising

Most Promising Advertising Student

Newhouse Advertising Department Award for Academic Excellence

Newhouse Advertising Student of the Year

Bandier Program Awards

Bandier Leadership Award

Bandier Innovator/Operator Award

Broadcast and Digital Journalism Awards

Don Edwards Broadcast Journalism Award

The Radio-TV-News Power Producer Award

Magazine, News and Digital Journalism Awards

Henry J. Leader Memorial Prize in Editing

Henry J. Wolff Prize

The Samuel V. Kennedy III Award for Newspaper Editing

William Glavin Award for Excellence in Magazine Writing

The John Mitchell Award for Sports Reporting

All Journalism Awards

Bob Heisler Award for Excellence

Photography and Graphic Design Awards

Bertram J. Davis Scholar Award

Dr. Frank Meola Photography Prize

Jeff Licata Photography Award

Kodak Professional Photo Scholarship

Society for News Design/Marshall Matlock Designer of the Year

The Visual Communications Department Prize in Graphic Design

The Visual Communications Department Prize in Immersive Media

The Visual Communications Department Prize in Motion Graphics

The Visual Communications Department Prize Video Production

Public Relations Awards

Julie Mendez Diversity and Inclusion Award in Public Relations

The Public Relations Department Chair Award for Leadership

The Public Relations Public Service Award

The William P. Ehling Award

Television, Radio and Film Awards

Edward L. Hersh Award

Glenn Steinfast Award for Excellence in Documentary Film Production

Gordon J. Alderman Memorial Prize

Irene M. Sholkin Prize in Script Writing

Oscar Micheaux Filmmaking Award

Stan Alten Excellence in Audio Award

The Zach Trifone Love of Life and Music Award

All Undergraduate Majors

Dean’s Service Award

The Beth Mowins ’90 Award in Sports Media

Excellence in Web Development and Coding Award

Mary Zoretski Award

Newhouse First-Year Achievement Award

George Plavocos Award

David Rubin 1st Amendment Prize

Class Marshals

Newhouse Scholars

Graduate Awards

Graduate School Master’s Prize

A. William Bluem Award

Armando Doreste Award

Catherine L. Covert Research Award

Charnice Milton Award for Community Journalism

Oh, The Places You’ll Go Award

Public Relations Certificate of Achievement

The Magazine, News and Digital Journalism Graduate Achievement Award

The William Doescher Outstanding Public Relations Master’s Degree Student