Newhouse Students Capture 2 National Championships at Hearst Journalism Awards 

Two More Students Finish as Runners-Up at Prestigious Competition

Newhouse students John Perik ’24 and Ronald Parrillo ’25 captured first-place honors Thursday night in their respective categories at the Hearst Journalism Awards, capping a banner week for Syracuse University at the prestigious competition.  

two people hold award certificates and smile
John Perik (left) and Ronald Parrillo with their awards. (Photo by Jon Glass)

Perik, who graduated last month, took first in the National Television Championship, while Parrillo, a senior, won the National Audio Championship. Broadcast and digital journalism (BDJ) majors Perik and Parrillo are the first Hearst national champions from Newhouse since Eric Wellman ’05 in 2004.  

Two more Newhouse students earned distinctions as runners-up at the ceremony in San Francisco: BDJ major Chilekasi Adele in the Television Championship category and Murphy McFarlane, a visual communications major, in the Multimedia Championship category. Both students also graduated in May.  

Institutional awards were handed out Wednesday, when Newhouse Dean Mark Lodato and several faculty members joined the students to pick up the award for Syracuse University’s first-place finish in the Intercollegiate Audio and Television category. Syracuse also took third overall in the prestigious Intercollegiate Competition, and third in the Intercollegiate Multimedia category.  

A group of people smile while three people in the middle hold award certificates.
Newhouse School students and faculty celebrate at the Hearst Journalism Awards on Wednesday, June 5. (Photo by Alice Wenner)

The Hearst Championships are the culmination of the 2023–24 Journalism Awards Program, which were held in 105 member universities of the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication with accredited undergraduate journalism programs. 
The 29 Championship finalists were selected from 1,315 entries submitted in 14 monthly competitions this academic year. From June 1-6, finalists participated in the National Championship in San Francisco, where they demonstrated their writing, photography, audio, television and multimedia skills in spot assignments.  Assignments were chosen by media professionals who judged the finalists’ work throughout the year and at the Championships. 

To learn more about the awards program, please visit: